Recording Costs Less Than You Think!

otpp

most of you know me but i wont tell you who i am just yet. i have worked with over 1000 bands live in singapore, both live and in the studio. i have also worked in japan and UK live and in studios. i have been doing sound for over 15 years now. (if you know who i am dont tell the rest, let them think about it!)

here are my questions for you all.......

how much will it cost you to set up a home recording studio? a good one i mean? i can tell you now, its about $10k min. sometimes alot more.
how many hours will you have to work to save this money? how many songs could you write in the time you take to do all this extra work?

how long will it take you to learn how to use it all? to get the 'pro studio' result i mean?
how many more songs could you write in the time you take to do all this?

what are your options? live recording at the venues in singapore never works. i dont know why but the venue never seems to have the equipment needed. (except for the one gig at youth park this sat 22/12/2007 where they are trying to get it sorted out - hello taz)

to get the right kit in your studio you need drums, mics, amps, mixer, computer and software. not just any old junk, good toys! you cant just get some good toys and then some ok stuff, it all has to be good! if you get bad amps your guitars will sound like banjos! know what i mean? it has to be right.

so......mmmmmm.......options........

who of you out there thinks recording in a 'pro studio' will cost you millions? NOT TRUE AT ALL.

lets look at 'Lion Studios' for my example. it is quite often called 'the Abbey Road of singapore' and to be honest i can see why. i have used quite a few of the pro studios in singapore and played tracks from others too. the best result is still lion in my opition. its old school kit to record so you get that nice fat and clean sound then into 'soundscape' hard disk recorder or pro tools for editing.