Need some advise for electric guitar

yehosaphat

Hi guys, I have been playing acoustic guitar for many many years and recently have decided to venture into electric guitar with all the more fanciful picking, solo, etc techniques. I know it is a totally different ball game altogether with the different technicalities from single coil, humbuckers, tuners, effect pedals etc.

Frankly Im a abit lost. I already have an amp and just got the zoom G2Nu effect pedal. When I tried to hook it up to my martin acoustic, the distortions got alot of feedback. The rest of the modules like delay and modulations were fine. I suppose its time i should get a proper electric guitar.

I know single coils have brighter sounds while humbuckers produce warmer sounds. Can I humbly ask whats the difference between the various types of guitars, strats, Les pauls, etc... since they have different combinations of the 2 pickups? Which would be a good guitar to start off with?

Scouted arnd city music and swee lee for the familiar ibanez, epiphone, etc. The frenly staff at city music recommended a craftman guitar with 2 single coils and a humbucker pickup combination going for $200 plus a bit for a start. I saw the craftman les paul at city music at arnd $300 plus. The Les Paul looks dam nice for that price. There are some good reviews on that in this forum as well.

So any recommendations for a startup guitar bros?

Thanks in advance!

the guitar for you... is the one you fancy after trying
star-wars-smiley-5472.gif

try as many guitars as you can, different shapes, pickup combo, wood type, etc. the one you like after much trying is the one for you.

Agreed bro. But just want to hear from you all based on your experiences. There is so much a beginner like me can try out. Thanks.

I saw the craftman les paul GS300 and GS200 and was comparing. Besides the wood, I saw the pickups are different. One is using Chrome H-H, the other is using Wilkison H-H. What is the difference between the 2 pickups?