Hum - what's wrong with my gear?

Victor Gwee

Hello all,

I'm new here, a friend recommended me to this website. I'm a student, and I own 3 guitars (1 acoustic, 1 electric, 1 acoustic-electric).

My problem is that hum is audible when I'm playing. Usually, when I'm playing at home, the noise is not audible to others. But if I put my ear to the speaker, it's audible. I've heard that a tiny bit of hum nullifies good tone.

My amp is Custom 30 Watt, bought from Davis Guitar. Of the two guitars that can be plugged into an amp, the electric is entry level (MII "Artisan" Brand Strat copy , no series no., $125) and the acoustic electric is Washburn WD10SCE, original price $330. Cables are "no-brand" cables, one says "Marukawa Video/Audio OFEC Cable Japan". I only have one effect pedal (for now;)) which is the DOD Milkbox (compressor) running on batteries.

I can experiment with several different setups for hums. With gain/level/EQ/Volume/compression all cranked up and "Artisan" Electric,

1. nothing plugged into the amp : sounds like sand flowing.
2. cable into the amp (other end of cable free) : hum is loud and bassier (50Hz).
3. with guitar : hum is like no.1, plus a high frequency whine.
4. with compressor(off) only: like no.1
5. with compressor (on) : like no.1
6. with guitar+compressor (off): like no.3
7. with guitar+compressor (on): no.3, hum super loud.

Could help anyone identify the problem (or problems) and propose affordable solutions? Affordable would be about $100, max 150. DIY possible if necessary. Thanks:)

My theories:
1. Amp operates with switchmode power supply, so hum is higher frequency than 50 Hz.
2. Cable head, when not plugged in, picks up 50Hz.
3. Guitar is not shielded well, picks up RF Signals?

1. nothing plugged into the amp : sounds like sand flowing - This is normal, same like pushing up the volume of any system with volume control