hi hat top vs bottom

pacifusion

HELLO again cymbal pros out there!
i was just experimenting with a few diff hihat set ups.
mixing tops and bottoms and diff. models..
realised although some hats came from the same set the top and bottom sounds quite different..
i kinda like the sound of a sabian xs20 bottom on top and a pearl stock below,
this makes two okay cymbals out of a good pair of sabians and a lousy pair of stock =x

just wanna ask if u guys know whats the different between the top and the bottom.. or is the only difference the logo LOL?
why are they made to sound different? hmms.

i'm not a cymbal pro but i think most (if not all) hi hats have heavier/thicker bottoms. why? let someone else answer that :mrgreen:

the difference is in the weight.

the top hat is lighter than the bottom hat.

most drummers like and tend to play around different hi-hat combinations to achieve the sound they're looking for. many of them play around with hats of different weights and brands, even crashes. if i remember accurately, i've seen someone mentioning on cymbalholic the use of 20" hats. so it really boils down to what sounds you're looking for; of course, you can afford to play around more if you've got an extensive collection like drum_hobbyist!

hi hat theory question - Cymbalholic Forums

hi hat weight questions - Cymbalholic Forums

hi hat rant - Cymbalholic Forums

Matched Hats - Cymbalholic Forums

hope the links would serve you well.

and i'm pretty darn sure weckl-x will pop by with some amazing links and info!

Last edited: