can One Cab work for All heads?will it work?

Kimmi

Hey guys,

May I ask, i'm planning to head into amps and thinking,can i buy a 4x12 cab and switch it out for celestions speakers and then just remain to that one cab and buy different heads.Will that work?

I'm considering to go for either 4 greenback,4 blue or 4 vintage 30.

maybe no, but I'm not very sure about it since I'm no techie.

What i know is each head requires certain resistant (e.g. 2 ohm, 4 ohm) for the cab. I don't know the impact if you plug a head into a cab that is not matched what it need.

Last edited:
yea, i heard about the Ohm part so definitely confuse.

I know tt would be easier to just get the matching cab to head ...just wanted to save space..so get a cab and switch out the speakers and then change around the heads.

thanks rhizopus

you don't have to get a matching cab for it to work. most cabinets are stock 8ohms if they're 4x12". what you want to do is to keep changing heads while using the same cabinet right? as long as the head has an 8ohm output, which it should definitely have, you can do it without any problems.

you don't have to get a matching cab for it to work. most cabinets are stock 8ohms if they're 4x12". what you want to do is to keep changing heads while using the same cabinet right? as long as the head has an 8ohm output, which it should definitely have, you can do it without any problems.

spot on dude!.....yea...so even if i switch out the stock speakers,the ohms won't be affected right?

just make sure you get the same impedance as the stock ones, otherwise the resistance will definitely change. which cabinet are you planning to get? Greenbacks come in various ratings so you should look out for that.

currently saving up for the cabs..but definitely a 4x12 but still a long way from getting the head...haha..

however,I'm thinking since i'm switching out the stock speakers for celestions,i don;t need to get too expensives cabs.right?