Beginner questions on bass (again!)

lexxmexx

Okok, I know questions like these had been asked many many times before and I had also did searches for info here but the more I see, the more confused I get. Hope some kind souls can help me here.

I am a total beginner on string instruments and I am thinking of picking up the bass. It seems like many people had recommended the BB414 here. What's the difference between this and the BB614 besides the price? Are they P or J style?
Also, how is the RBX374 compared to the BB414?

I am intending for this bass to go a long way so student models are out. The music I am interested in playing are jazz, fusion, pop and rock (almost everything liao), so flexibility is another consideration. Most people said that 4 strings are best for beginners but based on your playing experiences, is there an absolute need for the 5th string? Have you ever "kena" situations where you compromised your playing because you are short of the 5th string?

I particularly like the looks of those basses that have rather small bodies with natural wood finishing. What models are they? Does Yamaha have them? Are they expensive?

Thanks in advance

Last edited:
Hey there, the Yamaha BB414 is a good choice because of its versatility with its P n J pickup configurations. the BB 614 is just the active version of the 414 with an tweakable 3-band onboard eq. It's entirely up to you to choose which sound or feel you prefer so like anybody else would say: try both.

As for the choice of 4/5 strings, i personally felt the need to go low after having owned two 4 stringed basses. but then again some people never need to, or prefer the feel of a 4 string bass. given that you intend to play all sorts of genres i'd suggest a 5 string, but only if you have some background knowledge of bass.