what type of p/j pickups?

Jaydenial

hi softies,

i have an ibanez gsr190 and i wonder which set of p/j pickups i should get it installed.

im a noob at pickups cause i've been sticking to the stock ones that is already installed on the bass.

i know alot of u are tired on answering such questions cause it relies on personal preference.. but can just explain which pickups give which kind of tone and stuff?? thanks

Last edited:
Yeah man, it all depends a lot of the type of music you wanna play.

There are two types of pickups you wanna choose from:
Active PUPS give you a brighter tone or sound.
Passive PUPS gives you a more rounder tone or feel.

After deciding on the kind of sound that you want, then you can narrow down your search to the "BRANDS" in the market or maybe check out the website on our favourite bassist and see what kind of PUPS he is using...Cheers.

Yeah man, it all depends a lot of the type of music you wanna play.

There are two types of pickups you wanna choose from:
Active PUPS give you a brighter tone or sound.
Passive PUPS gives you a more rounder tone or feel.

After deciding on the kind of sound that you want, then you can narrow down your search to the "BRANDS" in the market or maybe check out the website on our favourite bassist and see what kind of PUPS he is using...Cheers.

so active pups are more for funk and jazz type of sounds issit? forgive me if im wrong cause im a noob at such stuff haha.

and for passive pups, is the sound like the one from Muse ?

Hmmm, jrock huh? Imo, you should go for actives. Gives that extra boost when you do your rifts so you can cut through the mix. Go look around at Davis! :)

so active pups are more for funk and jazz type of sounds issit? forgive me if im wrong cause im a noob at such stuff haha.

and for passive pups, is the sound like the one from Muse ?