"roywwp"'s problem with recording

blueprintstudios

i got a weird error saying user doesn't exist when replying him.. so i thought I might as well put it up here.

roywwp said:
Hi, can you help?
Hi Ron,

I am having a bit of a problem here with my recording. I am totally new at this and by reading all that posts you had on your thread somehow confuse me even more. And thats why you are receiving this email...

I have a sennheiser mic, DC adapter (to generate 40W), Behringer FCA202, Sony DV Camcorder and a XLR to right-angle mini jack.

I have tried to connect the mic to the camcorder and the sound was good but there background noise was terrible.

Thats when I got a FCA202 to record from my laptop (thinkpad T43) instead. I tried 2 ways...

1) Mic > FCA202 > Laptop (thru firewire)
Result: Very poor signal (low db/volume)

2) Mic > XLR to right-angle mini jack > Soundcard MIC port
Result: The volume is alright but the quality is very poor compared to when I record it using the Camcorder.

Now I realised there are a few options to solve this. Get a better Camcorder or Get a Preamp or Get a Good Soundcard. Any advice?

Regards,
Roy

hey roy,

your "Right angle mini jack" = 1/8 inch earphone jack.

1/4 inch is the jack used by guitar etc.

anyway using a sony DV camcorder as a recording medium would be quite noisy I think. cos I think sony has "auto-gain" , making anything recorded loud. so naturally even the background noise would be increased.

i'll tell you what went wrong here :

>1) Mic > FCA202 > Laptop (thru firewire)
>Result: Very poor signal (low db/volume)

i'm assuming your sennheiser mic is "Balanced" XLR. and because your FCA202 (wrong purchase actually) only accepts "UNBALANCED" inputs and there's no "PREAMPS" , that's why it the signal is very low volume.

>2) Mic > XLR to right-angle mini jack > Soundcard MIC >port
>Result: The volume is alright but the quality is very poor >compared to when I record it using the Camcorder.