Probably THE Overdrive (brief review)

Godspeed64

Just to share my experience. I've been using an MIJ SD-1 for about 2008 for my overdrive needs. Over the years, I've purchased or tried TS-style overdrives to replace it; while the SD-1 is an amazing overdrive pedal, there are moments I wish it was slightly more articulate, slightly fatter, slightly more sparkly, etc. Whatever tweaks I wanted were minute difference from the base tone of the SD-1, hence any replacement would have to be 95% in the same ballpark.

Pedals like the Xotic BB Preamp, BB Plus, Menatone Blue Collar, Fulltone FD-2, G2D Creamtone, and the list goes on either couldn't replace the SD-1 as a stand-alone overdrive (in terms of overall feel), or sounded bad when stacked with either a Rat or since early 2011, a Mudhoney II. There are many that I wanna try more, like the MJM Phantom OD and Rodenberg 808, whilst certain pedals like the MXR Custom Modified OD seemed set to replace my SD-1 until I tried the MorningStar 88 Overdrive on the same day as the MXR.

morningstarcustom881.jpg

The MorningStar is a TS at heart but without the famed TS clipping section (basically the JRC4558 chip); instead it offers a myriad of tonal possibilities for the tweaker to sculpt. I enjoyed the overdrive so much that I HAD to purchase a custom version (pictured above) as the voicing switch made it TWO ENTIRELY DIFFERENT OVERDRIVES; to me at least.
I've not really used the pedal in Low Gain mode, nor have I used it in LED clipping mode, but the High Gain mode is enough to make me go gaga over it. In LG, the EQ of the pedal is voiced darker while HG is much brighter.