Noob: electric guitar and things to get set up?

MisterM

I have no instrument experience what-so-ever, and I'm planning to learn some electric guitar independently.

After some reading, I've settled on a Squier Bullet Strat HSS.

I've recce-ed a few shops around Peninsula and at Bras Basah Complex as well.

Hopefully, I can have feedback on:
  1. Whether my choice of guitar is right
  2. What kind of amp should I get for personal practice
  3. Guitar picks, any things to recommend and to avoid?
  4. Slings should be straight forward right?
  5. Guitar bags; are there such things as different sizes for different guitars and such???
  6. Any recommended shops; Swee Lee or SV or others
  7. Any other things I've missed out

Can everything fit within SGD$400 as well or what kind of budget should I expect to allow?

firstly congrats on picking up an instrument, im sure you will enjoy it. :)

Most of the things mentioned are personal preference, but from my experience and online sentiment squiers have inconsistent quality control, plus the bullet strat is not a very good guitar. For around the $200 range, I suggest a swing strat (find them at SV guitars), I was quite taken with the swing s2 stage for $260. Most people agree that the swing strats are very good at that price range. Try the guitar before buying though, try to get a one that feels right when you play it. Bags generally come with guitars, but do clarify with the shop first.

Im unsure of amps, but roland cube 20-30 are going for ~$150 secondhand on forums, you may want to give those a shot. For picks, I suggest buying one of each gauge in set intervals (0.5mm, 0.7mm, 1mm etc) and try them to see which is the most comfortable. I like thinner picks for strumming and thicker picks for lead lines.

You may want to get your guitar setup, which may cost anywhere from $40-100. I suggest just finding a guitar that plays moderately nicely so you can save on this cost.

Tips: