MIDI music production software

jeremyspk

Yo Softies! :)

I'm an aspiring music composer (ok hold back, don't laugh :p ) but have yet to expose myself to proper software (such as cubase) when comes to arranging using MIDI. Hmm I've been using garageband, though the MIDI portion of the software is okay, I believe there's more I can do with a software that is majored for MIDI stuffs.

Other than Cubase and SONAR, what is recommended when comes to USER-FRIENDLINESS and VERSATILITY?

I'm currently using a basic MIDI controller KORG 61P, any hardware to recommend?

*Not sure if this is the correction section, but I can't think of other section except the keyboard one. Please move this thread accordingly :)

oki, I have moved this to the Computer/Software section.

What do you feel lacking in your current set up?

Usually, upgrades will give you more tracks, more compatibility, more sound, more efx .... But if those are not what you are lacking, then it is of no use.

Don't know if you already have a nice monitor speaker but I definitely recommend getting one. It will make all your work sounds better! Ha..ha..

@soft

actually i don't really feel a lack right now. perhaps just the monitor speakers (currently using a ATH m40 to mix and my apple earphones to sorta verify :p . i wonder if it's accurate.)
and would be really glad if I can work around with more instruments, effects, etc.
even better, give me more loops to play with. I was considering apple Jam packs, but worth it? not cheap ley *currently a student*

the main reason i'm asking around is that i'm just thinking, if I'm intending to go pro and do production at the industry-level, I think i will need better equipment, right?

my current set up is really "humble"
1 macbook white using garageband
1 cu10 samson condenser mic + misc accessories
1 korg 61p midi controller
1 athm40
my guitars