MIDI controller questions

qythium

Hi everybody, I'm thinking of getting a keyboard for my birthday. I'll probably be using it connected to my computer most of the time, so I guess a midi controller is what I need. I'm also completely new to this, and would like a bit of advice concerning the following questions.

After researching around for a bit, I'm quite set on the M-Audio Axiom 61 which looks like it offers lots of features for my budget of S$300-500.

So I went down to Sinamex and got a few surprises there. The salesperson said that if I wanted to do multi-track recording (which I definitely do) I'd have to get an external firewire midi interface, namely the M-audio Firewire Solo in order to avoid latency. It would also set me back by S$345.
Edit: I meant audio interface, not midi.

The thing is, my laptop is a 3rd gen Macbook Pro, and I assumed that it came with a good sound card that would be capable of handling these things. But no, the salesperson said, there is no such thing as a computer sound card which can do that. Naturally it sounded like a sales pitch and I'm suspicious of whether this is true, especially since i can't find much evidence of it on the web (or is it simply taken for granted?)

So as an alternative he pointed out the M-Audio Prokeys Sono 61 (S$695) and 88 (S$795) which, being synths, had the interfaces built into them. However, as I said, I would be using it with the computer most of the time, so I wouldn't need built-in sounds and all that stuff. But it would be a welcome option. Besides, they were lacking in some things that the Axiom had, like the knobs and sliders and drum pads, and also aftertouch capability.