Hughes & Kettner Triamp MK I

leecs

DSCN0491.jpg

Hi all! This is my 1st review here. I’m not good at English. So if I’ve said something wrong or reviewed incorrectly, please pardon or correct me.

Features
This is an all tube 100w amp. It consists of 3 channels with 2 sub-channels each, so total is 6 channels. It has a spring reverb. (Not foot-switchable). It tubes up with 9 preamp & 4 power tubes. “Ouch”, friggin lotsa tubes!!! It features a ‘Tight’ switch for Channels 1 & 2 only. (MK II features a “Tight” switch on Channel 1 only). The ‘Tight” switch is use for ‘cutting’ away the low end, making the tone tighter. There is no half power switch, as opposed to the MK II, which cuts the power to 50w, which is fine for me. I can remove the 2 outer power tubes, which can also cut the power to 50w. The best part in this amp is that it comes with an international voltage selector. So it can be use worldwide. Just change to the country's voltage & you're done. No need to use transformer. Mine comes in 100v, 117v & 230v.

Note: The sub-channels EQ are shared. This means channel 1A&B shares the same EQ, so on & so forth. It is very important to tweak the EQs between the sub-channels, so as to shape your tone.

Sound
IMO, the respective channels have characteristic tones of…
Ch 1A: Fender Deluxe Reverb
Ch 1B: Vox AC30
Ch 2A: Marshall JTM-45
Ch 2B: Marshall JCM800
Ch 3A: Mesa Boogie Dual Rectifier
Ch 3B: Soldano SLO

I’m using a Marshall 2x12 cab with V30s, Music Man John Petrucci and Modded Boss SD1 with a DD20 in the loop.

Channel 1A: cleans are bright & full of ‘balls’. When gain knob turn to full, there’s a substantial amount of drive, which is not a + point for me. So tweak to taste. However, in the MK II series, the Channel 1A’s gain knob is a volume knob. So there’s absolutely no break up. 100% clean.

Channel 1B: A very typical Vox AC30 kind of character. Particularly tasteful when using single coil guitars