help with drum terms

ixora05

hi everyone...I'm really new to drumming, ie am starting lessons soon and buying drumsticks soon. after browsing on the site I am really confused by the technical terms used to describe all the drumming gear! Some questions here: what's considered a basic drum set? drumsticks for beginners? I know 5As are good but what are they?? why are they called 5As? and also what type of drumset is good for beginners. thanks! the technical terms are really confusing and I am a n00b at this.

A typical basic drumset:
1 x snare drum, 3 x toms (left, right and floor toms), 1 x bass drum, 1 x crash cymbal, 1 x highhats, 1 x ride cymbal.

Drumsticks:
I think 5A just means the weight and thickness of the sticks. Don't know exactly what the figures mean though lol. Correct me if I'm wrong here :) But yes, 5A sticks are good starters for beginners.

Beginner drumset:
See above.

Hope this helps a little. Don't feel too confused by all the terms you see. You'll get the hang of it as you progress along. :)

I think (not very sure at this) 5A is a set of light and thin drum sticks (I think my pair is 5A).

About the basic kit, Mel80 said it. Of course you can take away or add some parts.

It's good to learn with this kit since it's the "regular" thing.

A standard drumset is exactly like what mel80 said. Although there is no "standard" drumset, that is what you will usually get from low end budget drumsets. It is also referred to as the 5 piece, yes, you count the drums. And as for the cymbals, mel80 mentioned the 3 essentials, the 2 timekeepers (hihats and ride), and the crash.

Anyway, about the drumsticks, as far as I know, there is no system of naming them. A Vater 5A and a Vicfirth 5A may vary, albeit just a negligible difference. But the closest you can get to a systematic branding for most manufacturers is that 5As are standard sized for most people, 7A being the lighter and thinner version, and 2B having the heavier and beefed up feel.

hi guys..