Field recording and occasional gig recording - the Samson Zoom H2 or the Edirol R-09?

smith6079

Hello, I'm a newbie here...

I have a pair of binaural microphones that I want to use as an external mic or line-in with a recorder. What I want to record - sounds of surroundings and occasionally shows (rock/pop, orchestra).

I'm in a dilemma over which recorder to get, and narrowed my choices down to the Samson Zoom H2 and the Edirol R-09. Right now I'm leaning towards the Zoom H2 because it's cheaper, much cheaper...

For the Samson Zoom H2, I got a quote from City Music that it's $272.
For the Edirol R-09, I got a quote from Global Broadcast Supply that it's $588.50.

Any thoughts/comments/sample recordings welcome please!

Hi Thoa

H4 much too big for me to carry around stealthily or inobtrusively... plus I prefer one with 1/8 jacks as my binaural mics are 1/8 inch. I don't have or need XLR jacks.

Also, the H4 is substantially more expensive than the H2. The H2 is really affordable but I'm concerned about the ext mic and line-in recording quality of the H2. Need to know if it's much better on the Edirol R-09 because I guess ultimately, out of part-hobby-part-work interest, I'd still want to have good recordings... over price.

The Edirol R-09 is a couple hundred more expensive than the Zoom H2 but, it'd be the maximum of what I'd be willing to pay...

i'd say go for H2. i have it and its roks. recorded line in and no problems, if you're not expecting superclean digital.

micwise just have to set the levels and get a decent sound. its pretty much a shoot n go piece of gear with some nifty features.

Hey where'd you get the binaural mics from? The net?
i'm using the H4. There's a new update on the zoom site that will allow >4GB. The thing with the H4 is phantom power, which if you're into up close and personal recordings, paired with a large diaphragm condenser, it's going to be as good as it can get.