Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How to play drum without scores?

User Info Menu

How to play drum without scores?

I have played for 2 years +. Previously i always rely on scores i tab out while jamming. But recently to prepare for gig i have to do without scores. But tabbing scores i can say it is tedious.

Everytime the beats i play are different if theres no scores. Sometimes messy. Off beat. lol

How do you guys play without scores?

I started playing drum with theory.

User Info Menu

Listen to the songs in parts. Break down the intros, verses, pre-choruses, choruses, bridges. Take note of the transitions. Repeat the process over and over again. Once you get the hang of it, you can remember different parts of songs faster.

Hope this helps a little

User Info Menu

erm ya lyk wad mel said, just rmb the transitions, becoz most of the time wads in between doesnt change much, so the only changing parts are the transitions and some occasional fills in the middle.

and btw i play w/o scores too and every time i play its different, but i dont mind becoz it helps me realise that there are many ways to play the song, and to some extent, it trains my creativity for improvisation too if u know wad i mean.
    Everyone started somewhere and learned from something/someone~

I started by breaking rules and learned from embarassment~

User Info Menu

@ Dark Heart:

Why do you use pieces of paper/scores to play your drums? I use drum sticks. Maybe, you should too